Winning strategies for the 7 day challenge

Hi friends. First of all, I would like to thank my new blog subscribers for signing up! The 1 to 1 promotion is still on, but closes soon. So keep an eye on your inboxes, as we embark on our 1 to 1 treat of a healthy diet consultation. Now, onto my winning strategies.

Fruit salad

Fruit salad

Plan your meals

Similar to managing your finances, you draw up a plan, usually a budget. The best way to get ahead of your healthy eating game is to plan, plan and plan. If you know what you are having for breakfast, lunch and dinner, then it is so much easier to know that you can indulge in that bar of chocolate without any guilt. But remember, the less you indulge, the quicker the result. Incorporating fruit and veggies on demand is a great help.

Moderate these foods

Sweet treats at champagne tea

My strategy for the next 7 days is to cut off regular sugar intake in tea, cereal, chocolate, sweets, cakes: yeah… all the good stuff. The next thing I am going to do is to moderate my use of oil in cooking. If you must use oil, let it be olive oil. I am going to substitute it where I can, with a low-calorie cooking spray such as fry light. I am going to substitute a lot of my snacks for a fat-free or lower fat option. Reduced fat cheese, yoghurt, salad cream etc: remember every little helps. Last but not least, I am going to keep an eye on grains and cereals and make sure I balance their intake with my meat consumption. Sounds like a lot, doesn’t it? But once you get going, it becomes easier and you don’t have to think about it too much.

Keep these foods coming in

Fresh fruit and berries

Fresh or frozen fruits and veggies. Basically, you can never have too much. Dried fruits need moderating, because the natural sugars in them have become concentrated and eating too many of them will be like eating a bar of chocolate. Fruit juice, although it counts towards your 5 a day, it is still a concentrated form of fruit, therefore keep an eye on this as well; yes, even the not from concentrate juices. I simply water down most of my juices as I find them quite sweet anyway.

Count the cost or substitute

Get into the habit of “counting the cost” of foods that could have an impact on your healthy eating plan. Measure your olive oil instead of just pouring. Pay attention to how much milk you are having: the less fat percentage, the more you can have. If you are famished, consider having 1… no, 2 jacket potatoes instead of bread to fill you up.

I see question marks. No, this is not a low carb diet, on the contrary, carbs are great and my body responds well to them. I have chosen to indulge in carbs and fresh fruit and veg, and to moderate my meats.

One thought on “Winning strategies for the 7 day challenge

  1. Pingback: 7 Day Challenge: Healthy Meal Plan Part 1 « My Burnt Orange

Leave a Reply

