Aljezur Market

Mercado Municipal de Aljezur - "Aljejur Market"

Mercado Municipal de Aljezur – “Aljejur Market”

Experiences with Chef Fran from the Portuguese Country Cooking School.

One of my favourite pastimes is going to markets, especially food markets. I guess it is natural of course, because I love food so much. Few people realise that cooking is essentially about sourcing good fresh food and then transforming it into a delectable dish. For me, it is also very visual, my day just lightens up when I see colourful fresh ingredients.

Sharon Fruit looking so much like tomato

Sharon Fruit looking so much like tomato

I have more pics to share about markets I have visited in my travels, but for now, the spotlight is on Portugal’s Aljezur Market.

Pumpkin and squash type thingies

Pumpkin and squash type thingies

I went there with Fran as part of the day cooking course and watched as she created a menu in her head based on what was available. Aah, a woman after my own heart… we use our heads when we cook, and seldom follow recipes.

Here is one of the most interesting pics. Portuguese Oregano.

Portuguese Oregano

Portuguese Oregano

5 thoughts on “Aljezur Market

  1. Pingback: Portuguese Country Cooking School « My Burnt Orange

  2. Pingback: Organic veggie and herb garden « My Burnt Orange

  3. Pingback: Fran’s Recipes: Sharon Fruit Platter « My Burnt Orange

  4. Pingback: Fran’s Recipes: Grilled carapau « My Burnt Orange

Leave a Reply

