My Balham Cake Off Challenge

I got a tweet from @TrinityStores the other day, inviting me to dive into their event inspired by the Great British Bake Off; The Balham Cake Off. I almost fell off my chair and those of you who know me will know why. I just do not bake. Ever! I do not have the time for it, I am not the sweetest tooth around, but I get addicted very easily, however, I just don’t think I have the knack for it, not like I do with cooking.

So what does Freedes do?

I go ahead and sign up just to have a good laugh. And why not? I stink at baking but that does not mean I cannot put some effort into it by challenging myself to doing something fun and local.

What is the Balham Cake off all about? It is a 5 week challenge, thankfully spread over 10 weeks, to bake a cake in accordance with the strictest of instructions from Trinity Stores… well, not really. But every week, we are set with a challenge. The first week, our challenge was to make a Gluten Free Bake which must contain no trace of wheat, barley, rye or oats! Deep end for an amateur like moi?

Are they serious? What person in their right mind does not make a cake with flour??????????????? I did not even think that was possible! As you will see in the coming weeks, I have set myself up for some serious baking… and sweet eating. Ha!!!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

