Simply Red Red (Popular Ghana Recipe)

Rainbow food series – Red

2013-02-14 17.43.34

Recipe

3 tbsp palm oil (must, otherwise it’s not “Red Red”)
1 onion
1 inch ginger
1 clove garlic
1 tbsp tomato puree
3 ripe tomatoes, chopped
1 vegetable, fish or prawn stock cube
1 can adzuki beans
1 can black eye peas (no time for soaking dried beans)
1 scotch bonnet pepper, left whole

Method

1. Heat up the palm oil and fry the onions until golden.
2. Add the garlic, ginger and tomato puree and fry for a minute
3. Add the chopped tomatoes followed by the stock cube and allow to fry and reduce for 10 minutes
4. Add the beans, including bean juice in can. Add the whole scotch bonnet to release flavour without too much heat and bring to a simmer.

2013-02-14 18.42.02

Traditionally enjoyed with fried plantain and a sprinkling of gari.

8 thoughts on “Simply Red Red (Popular Ghana Recipe)

  1. That looks lovely – my neighbour comes up with stuff like this and lets me try it out (I had never tried plantain before I found him cooking it in his back garden on the BBQ – looks like a banana bit tastes kind of like sweet potato

  2. I love this recipe. I’m so excited I found your blog. I lived in Ghana several years ago, and miss red red so much! This recipe really took me back. I can’t wait to try your other recipes. It all looks so delicious. Cheers!

  3. This is beautiful. I hope you get the chance to come through Ghana sometime so I can treat you to it right here in the capital if you haven’t been in Ghana yet 🙂

Leave a Reply

