Good Friday Salmon

It is here. Easter is upon us. It is Friday and it is Good.

DSC04849

For Good Friday, I am cooking a wonderful honey glazed salmon for my family. This is not actually my recipe or idea. I got spoiled last year when I was invited over by my Mbuya and friend, Batsi, for lunch. She made this honey and mustard salmon that was so simple, yet the presentation was so chic. I begged her for the recipe and she provided me with this link. I have made this dish so many times since that even I think it is my recipe and I regularly get my friends and family asking, “Where is your honey salmon recipe?” I have made the version I learned from Batsi below. Oh, and the photo’s are from last year. Same dish though. What? You didn’t think I was going to cook, photograph and blog all on the same day did you? I got cooking and eating to do, as well as taking time out to remember what Good Friday is all about. Peace and enjoy!

Recipe (To serve 6 to 8 generous portions)

1kg of salmon side fillet
3 tbsp honey
3 tbsp dijon mustard
3 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice and zest
1 tbsp smoked paprika
Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Method

1. Remove the skin from the salmon and place into a baking dish. Mix up the glaze and coat the salmon with the glaze.

2. Bake in a preheated oven at 200 degrees celsius for 15 minutes.

3. Serve with couscous and your favourite salad.

DSC04851

4 thoughts on “Good Friday Salmon

  1. It looks lucious and finger licking great!! What a nice looking pairing as well. You’ve just given me the perfect idea for dinner tonight! Happy Holiday Weekend!!

    • It truly is great. You can wow dinner guests with only 20 minutes of effort. How long does it take to whip up the honey glaze and cook the salmon? And adding a cup of boiling stock to couscous, fluff? But the presentation is so impressive!

Leave a Reply

